Health Ministry declares 10 districts vulnerable to dengue epidemic

Source: Colombo Page

Stop DengueSri Lanka's Ministry of Health, Nutrition and Indigenous Medicine has declared ten districts of the island are susceptible areas to a dengue epidemic as the mosquito borne disease is spreading fast.

Districts of Colombo, Gampaha, Kalutara, Galle, Ratnapura, Kurunegala, Puttalam, Batticaloa, Ampara and Jaffna have been declared as susceptible to a dengue epidemic and the Ministry has decided to conduct Mosquito eliminating programs from 12th December 2016 in those districts.

The Ministry of Health (MOH) has at a meeting held yesterday under the patronage of Minister Dr. Rajitha Senaratne has decided to seek the assistance of the three armed forces, Police and Civil Defense Force to successfully carry out the dengue mosquito eradication programs.

Leave of the health workers of 30 MOH divisions in these districts have been cancelled and it has been made mandatory for them to take part in the programs. School principals will be instructed to keep the school premises free of mosquito breeding grounds

The Minister has instructed to provide Rs. 40 million to the National Dengue Control Unit without delay.

The number of dengue cases has risen over 60 percent this year from the 29,777 cases reported last year. So far this year, 47,834 suspected dengue cases have been reported to the Epidemiology Unit from all over the island and 77 people have died of the disease.

Almost 50% of the dengue cases were reported from the Western Province, which include Colombo, Kalutara and Gampaha districts.

The Epidemiology Unit warned that the situation warrants regular removal of possible mosquito breeding sites from the environment as the number of dengue cases is expected to increase with the approaching rainy season.

Batticaloa Weather

Mostly Clear



Mostly Clear

Humidity: 80%

Wind: 28.97 km/h

  • 23 Feb 2018

    Mostly Cloudy 27°C 26°C

  • 24 Feb 2018

    Scattered Thunderstorms 27°C 25°C